Landmark Title Agency | Ohio Title Insurance Calculator
Calculate Purchase/Sale Title Insurance Policy Rates
Copyright 2023 Landmark Title Agency South, Inc.
Auditor’s Conveyance Fees
The State of Ohio levies a tax on all real estate transfers of ten cents per $100 of the sales price.
The law allows individual counties to increase the tax. For example, Montgomery County charges $1 per $1,000 for state tax, plus $1 per $1,000 for county tax making the total conveyance fee $2 per $1,000 of the home sales price.
The amounts under each tab below are per $1,000 of the sale price and paid to the county where the property is located. There are exceptions so if you have a question, please contact the county’s auditor’s office.
Property Real Estate Tax Due Dates
Understanding Ohio property taxes at closing is one of the most confusing costs for sellers.
The State of Ohio handles property tax payments in a unique (and sometimes confusing way). Property taxes are paid in arrears. Each county has different billing cycles and tax rates (per $1,000 of a home’s assessed value). Your most recent tax bill covers property taxes owed for the six-month cycle one year ago (e.g., your July bill this year is for the prior year’s tax period July through December).